White Ferns lead World Twenty20 after thrashing Australia

The New Zealand women's cricket team, the White Ferns has beaten defending champions Australia in Nagpur with a six-wicket win. As a result, New Zealand has remained the only unbeaten team in Group A at the Women's ICC Twenty20 2016.

Leigh Kasperek and Morna Nielsen dominated the match, bowling eight overs between them after Australia lost the toss.

The duo was quick to put Australia under pressure, reducing the world number ones to 4/4. Kasperek struck twice in her first over and  Erin Osborne collected the third wicket.

The experienced Nielsen used her skill at the other end to finish her four overs, before legspinner Erin Bermingham took over in an innings that saw all but five of the 20 overs bowled by a four-prong spin attack.

Sophie Devine's pace proved successful, as she picked up her 50th Twenty20 International wicket.

The wicket halted a 50-run stand and significant recovery from Perry and Jess Jonassen. Devine then made an impressive diving catch to dismiss Megan Schutt off spinner Amy Satterthwaite as the New Zealanders restricted Australia to their lowest Twenty20 International total: 103/8.

Openers Suzie Bates and Rachel Priest ensured the White Ferns' chase was smooth, with a 58-run opening stand.

The unbeaten White Ferns now head to Bengaluru for their final Group match against South Africa at 3am Sunday 27 March NZT.