Topics: Kura Tuarua, Rugby League

Ōtāhuhu College take out 2015 National Rugby League Championships

  • Auckland

Ōtāhuhu College are now the 2015 National Rugby League Secondary Schools champions, winning the final against St Paul's after the full-time whistle.  With seconds to go, Ōtāhuhu were behind by 5 points and needed a converted try to win the match.

It didn't take long for St. Paul's to cross with a try set up with an easy pop.

Not long after, it was St. Paul's crossing again, this time capitalising on an Ōtāhuhu error.

Just before half time St. Paul's slotted a drop goal to take their lead to 13-nil.

In the second half it was Ōtāhuhu who crossed over for their first off a nice cut out ball.

It was also converted beautifully.

A beautiful right foot step narrowed the gap to 1 point.

But the winger Abbey stretched the lead on the other side of the field with his aerial skills, taking the score to 17-12.

With 10 seconds left on the clock Ōtāhuhu struck again, the score 17-16 and it was all down to the kick.

Captain Komiti Vetenotu says, “It was a team effort you know. If it wasn't for one of the boys to score that try, I wouldn't have had to kick that wining try. I’m just happy for the boys, the boys dug deep, no credit to me, all to the boys.”

So Ōtāhuhu College returns to the throne, they occupied in 2011.