Topic: Rugby

NZ Under 20 Rugby squad named for Oceania tournament

The New Zealand Under 20 Rugby squad to travel to the Gold Coast, Australia this month for the Oceania Under 20 tournament, has been named.

The team is as follows:

Ayden Johnstone 
Mason Kean   
Shaun Stodart   
Sean Paranihi                 
Alex Fidow                
Pouri Rakete-Stones 
Leni Apisai, captain          
Asafo Aumua               
Hamish Dalzell     
Quinten Strange            
Sam Caird                
Isaia Walker-Leawere      
Fin Hoeata               
Mitchell Jacobson           
Luke Jacobson           
Dalton Papali’i           
Hapakuki Moala- Liava'a        
Marino Mikaele Tu'u        

Jonathan Taumateine   
Sam Nock              
TJ Va’a             
Stephen Perofeta          
Jordie Barrett           
Patelesio Tomkinson      
Orbyn Leger                 
Jonah Lowe               
Malo Tuitama          
Peter Umaga Jensen        
Mason Emerson           
Jordan Trainor            
Caleb Makene

Head Coach Scott Robertson says he is happy with the level of talent in the team who will play two test matches against Australia next month. 

“The trial matches that we held last month were incredibly valuable for us as selectors and we got to see the players in that intense game environment, and we got to see how they responded to the pressure of playing and competing for places.

“While there are only the two countries, we have two tough test matches against a strong Australian team in this Oceania tournament.  These will also provide us with a valuable sense of how they cope with playing intense matches in a compact window,” he said.

Leni Apisai who is the hooker for the Hurricanes has been named captain of the side.