Topic: Rugby

All Blacks team named for RWC semi-final against South Africa

The All Blacks squad to take on South Africa in the semi-final of the Rugby World Cup has been named. 

The starting line up is as followed:

1. Joe Moody 
2. Dane Coles 
3. Owen Franks 
4. Brodie Retallick 
5. Samuel Whitelock 
6. Jerome Kaino 
7. Richie McCaw 
8. Kieran Read 
9. Aaron Smith 
10. Daniel Carter 
11. Julian Savea 
12. Ma'a Nonu 
13. Conrad Smith 
14. Nehe Milner-Skudder
15. Ben Smith 

Just one change has been made to the squad from last Saturday's quarter-final. Joe Moody will replace the injured Wyatt Crockett in the starting line-up. Prop, Ben Franks moves on to the bench.

All Blacks head coach, Steve Hansen says, "We've had a great preparation so far this week.  We've put a full stop on last weekend's performance and have been slowly building throughout the week to produce another game we can all be proud of.

Despite having played South Africa many times in the past, this will only be the third time the All Blacks have faced South Africa at a Rugby World Cup event.

Hansen says, "As a group we're really looking forward to this challenge.  It will require a massive amount of intensity and composure and accurate skill execution.  This team has high expectations of itself and enjoys the big occasions.

"We're all very much looking forward to Saturday.  It's the fun part of the week where we get to express our skills, physicality and mental strength; all things we've been working really hard on this week."

The match will kick off at 4am Sunday morning (NZDT).