Topic: Netball

2016 Silver Ferns squad announced

Netball New Zealand has just announced the Silver Ferns squad for 2016.

2016 Silver Ferns Squad:

Bailey Mes – Mainland Tactix
Cathrine Latu – SKYCITY Mystics
Maria Tutaia – SKYCITY Mystics
Ameliaranne Wells – Central Pulse
Gina Crampton – Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel
Kayla Cullen – SKYCITY Mystics
Shannon Francois – Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel
Laura Langman – NSW Swifts
Grace Rasmussen – WBOP Magic
Leana de Bruin – WBOP Magic
Katrina Grant – Central Pulse
Anna Harrison – SKYCITY Mystics
Jess Moulds – Mainland Tactix
Storm Purvis – Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel

New to the squad are defenders Jess Moulds (Mainland Tactix) and Storm Purvis (Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel), as well as midcourter Gina Crampton (Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel). While experienced defender Anna Harrison (SKYCITY Mystics) makes her return following the birth of her second child.

Silver Ferns coach Janine Southby says the squad is an exciting blend of youth and experience.
“I’ve been impressed with what I’ve seen this week. Obviously there’s still a long way to go and we’ll start bedding down some new structures and plans in January, but we’ve selected an exciting mix of athletes,” Southby said.
“We are at the start of a new four-year cycle, so while we are looking ahead to those major events it is important that we continue to build on the platform that was set this year.”

Below is also the names of those who have made the national Development squad.

2016 National Development Squad:

Name - 2016 ANZ Championship team
Ellen Halpenny – WBOP Magic
Phoenix Karaka – Central Pulse
Malia Paseka - WBOP Magic
Erikana Pedersen – Mainland Tactix
Te Paea Selby-Rickit – Ascot Park Hotel Southern Steel
Samantha Sinclair – WBOP Magic
Sulu Tone-Fitzpatrick – SKYCITY Mystics
Zoe Walker – Mainland Tactix

Te Kāea reporter Raniera Harrison will bring you more on this tonight at 5:30pm