2015 Māori Sports Awards streams LIVE from Tūrangawaewae Marae

  • Waikato/Bay of Plenty

More than 400 people will convene under the roof of the Kimiora dining hall at Tūrangawaewae Marae tonight to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Māori Sports Awards.

Tūrangawaewae Marae first hosted the awards back in 1991 but as the number of talented Māori athletes continued to grow, so too did the demand for a bigger location and the ceremony was moved to Auckland.

But in its 25th year its return to Tūrangawaewae Marae marks a special occasion

“We brought Ngā Tohu Tākaro o Aotearoa back to Tūrangawaewae Marae to honour the founding members who started this event, the late Te Arikinui Dame Te Ātairangikaahu. Sir John Tūrei and Albie Pryor” says Dick Garratt, the executive director of Ngā Tohu Tākaro o Aotearoa Charitable Trust.

The awards ceremony will be co-hosted by Ngā Tohu Tākaro o Aotearoa and the Kingitanga Trust.

“Sports commentator Te Arahi Maipi will MC tonight’s event” says Mr Garratt.

Just under 100 Māori athletes have been nominated as individuals or in a group across 17 categories, and tonight's ceremony can be viewed via Māori Television’s LIVE stream starting at 6:00pm tonight.

Click here - Live Steam Māori Sports Awards 2015

Tune in to Te Kāea on Māori Television at 5:30pm tonight as our reporters Raniera Harrison and Rewa Harriman cross live from Tūrangawaewae Marae.