Topic: Elections

Labour releases candidate list for 2014 Election

By Te Ao Māori News

The Labour Party has released it’s list of candidates for the 2014 General Election with just one Māori member making it into the top 10.

Nanaia Mahuta has secured 6th spot on the Labour List, while returning to stand for Labour in the Te Taitokerau seat has seen Kelvin Davis secure the 18th spot.

Louisa Wall is at number 12, Moana Mackey at number 17 and Meka Whaitiri at number 19.

In a statement released today, Labour Party President Moira Coatsworth says, “an outstanding group of talented New Zealanders was selected for Labour’s list over the weekend. Our Moderating Committee met on both Saturday and Sunday in Auckland and agreed a list of 64 List candidates.  The Party’s renewal and the number of skilled candidates meant that the biggest challenge was having to rank 64 people of such high calibre. We are excited by the skilled, experienced people we expect to join our Caucus team.”

Labour leader, David Cunliffe says he is delighted at the “fantastic array of talented candidates who have made it onto our List.  The skills, energy and positivity which they bring shows the excellent health which our Party is in.”

Te Kāea will speak to Kelvin Davis tonight to gather his thoughts on the Labour rundown for the upcoming election at 5:30 and 7:00pm with subtitles.

The full list is outlined below:


1       David Cunliffe

2       David Parker

3       Grant Robertson

4       Annette King

5       Jacinda Ardern

6       Nanaia Mahuta

7       Phil Twyford

8       Clayton Cosgrove

9       Chris Hipkins

10     Sue Moroney

11     Andrew Little

12     Louisa Wall

13     David Shearer

14     Su'a William Sio

15     Maryan Street

16     Phil Goff

17     Moana Mackey

18     Kelvin Davis

19     Meka Whaitiri

20     Megan Woods

21     Raymond Huo

22     Damien O'Connor

23     Priyanca Radhakrishnan

24     Iain Lees-Galloway

25     Rachel Jones

26     David Clark

27     Carol Beaumont

28     Poto Williams

29     Carmel Sepuloni

30     Tamati Coffey

31     Jenny Salesa

32     Liz Craig

33     Deborah Russell

34     Willow-Jean Prime

35     Jerome Mika

36     Tony Milne

37     Virginia Andersen

38     Claire Szabo

39     Michael Wood

40     Arena Williams

41     Hamish McDouall

42     Anjum Rahman

43     Sunny Kaushal

44     Christine Greer

45     Penny Gaylor

46     Janette Walker

47     Richard Hills

48     Shanan Halbert

49     Anahila Suisuiki

50     Clare Wilson

51     James Dann

52     Kelly Ellis

53     Corie Haddock

54     Jamie Strange

55     Katie Paul

56     Steven Gibson

57     Chao-Fu Wu

58     Paul Grimshaw

59     Tracey Dorreen

60     Tofik Mamedov

61     Hikiera Toroa

62     Hugh Tyler

63     Susan Elliot

64     Simon Buckingham