Dr Ranginui Walker among nominees for 2016 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year award

Respected academic Doctor Ranginui Walker is one of  10 people being considered for the 2016 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year award.

Doctor Walker of Te Whakatōhea is widely recognised for his talent as an academic, a writer, an educator and cultural commentator.

Walker was the founder of Ngā Tamatoa in the early 70’s and also authored the well-known and bestselling book ‘Kā Whawhai tonu mātou – Struggle without End.’

Former All Blacks Captain Richie McCaw, Victims’ rights advocate, Louise Nicholas and lawyer Mai Chen are among the other prominent New Zealanders being considered.

According to Chief Judge Cameron Bennett, “Each nominee has achieved great things, in New Zealand and, indeed, on the world stage. They’ve shown the courage, determination and tenacity – the sheer grit – that defines what it is to be a New Zealander and have achieved extraordinary things in a uniquely Kiwi way. All are unique and special New Zealanders of whom we can be very proud.”

Organisers say more than 330 nominations were received this year for the 2016 Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year. 

The winner will be announced at the New Zealander of the Year Gala Awards evening in Auckland on 17 February, 2016.

Previous winners of the New Zealander of the Year Award include Sir Stephen Tindall (2015), Dr Lance O’Sullivan (2014), Dame Anne Salmond (2013), Sir Richard Taylor (2012), Sir Paul Callaghan (2011) and Sir Ray Avery (2010).