Te Matatini sub navigation

Ōtāhuhu College – Te Kareti o Ōtāhuhu

Ōtāhuhu College is a co-educational secondary school for Years 9 to 13. The roll is predominantly Māori and Pacific. Te Pihinga o te Koru was originally called Te Koru when it was formed by a collective of Māori teachers from Ōtāhuhu Primary, Fairburn Primary, Panama Road School, Mt Richmond Special School and Ōtāhuhu Intermediate – contributing schools to Ōtāhuhu College. Today, the successful haka group and haka waiata competitions for the four school houses are well embedded features of school culture that are enjoyed and appreciated by the whole community.

Given the large number of haka groups performing on the Māori Stage at ASB Polyfest in recent years, Māori Television can only commit to record and broadcast the kapa in the competitive section of the three divisions over the four-day event. In 2017, Ōtāhuhu College opted to perform as a non-competitive group.

ASB Polyfest 2017