TV show sub navigation


From Papakura to Te Awamutu. From Kawhia in the west, to the Coromandel in the East, that’s the territory of the Hauraki-Waikato region. Hamilton city is also a part of this electorate, as well as the heart of the Māori King movement. 

[Emotiki use courtesy of Te Puia]

Labour Party's Nanaia Mahuta has been a stronghold within her electorate for a long time now, however this year may see a turn in the tide with Māori King, King Tuheitia declaring his support for the Māori Party, and their candidate Rahui Papa.

Nanaia Mahuta is the incumbent MP for Hauraki-Waikato.

Previous result in Hauraki-Waikato.
Current MP Nanaia Mahuta (LABOUR)
Majority 7,695
Total votes 21,216

Hauraki-Waikato - Live Results

Hauraki-Waikato - Confirmed Result

Confirmed Result

VOTES COUNTED:  23,216        100.0%


2nd CANDIDATE:  PAPA, Stanley Rahui    6,083

MAJORITY:   9,223

PARTY VOTE LEAD:  Labour Party 61.5%

2nd PARTY:  Māori Party 11.3%

Electorate seat winner

Nanaia Mahuta

Labour Party
Votes: 15,306 (72%)
Margin: 9,223 (43%)

100% of booths reporting as at 12:00am

Live candidate results for Hauraki-Waikato

Nanaia Mahuta

15306 votes 72%

Stanley Rahui Papa

6083 votes 28%

Party vote

Party vote winner

Labour Party

Votes: 14,279 (63%)
Margin: 11,644 (51%)
Live party results for Hauraki-Waikato
Labour Party
14279 votes 100%
Māori Party
2635 votes 18%
New Zealand First Party
1936 votes 14%
National Party
1594 votes 11%
Green Party
1193 votes 8%
The Opportunities Party (TOP)
582 votes 4%
Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party
240 votes 2%
230 votes 2%
New Zealand People's Party
31 votes 0%
29 votes 0%
ACT New Zealand
20 votes 0%
18 votes 0%
NZ Outdoors Party
13 votes 0%
United Future
6 votes 0%
Internet Party
4 votes 0%
Democrats for Social Credit
4 votes 0%

Candidates in: Hauraki-Waikato

More: Hauraki-Waikato

Show more results

Te Kāea on Facebook