Ikaroa-Rāwhiti By-Election

Māori Television presents LIVE web streaming of the Ikaroa-Rāwhiti By-Election from 7.00pm-9.40pm, Saturday 29th June.

TV show sub navigation

Candidate Profiles

The tragic passing of Labour politician Parekura Horomia last month, triggered the by-election of the East Coast seat which he held for the past 14 years. Seven candidates are seeking election as the Ikaroa-Rāwhiti Member of Parliament.

Those standing are Meka Whaitiri, Labour Party; Na Rongowhakaata Raihania, Māori Party; Marama Davidson, Green Party; Te Hāmua Nikora, Mana; Adam Holland, Independent; Maurice Wairau, Independent; Michael Appleby, Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party.