Topic: Rugby

NZRU complete their World Women's Sevens squad

By Heeni Brown
NZ Women's Rugby Sevens 2014 squad - Photo /

19 names have been announced by the NZRU for their Women's Sevens squad set to complete the rest of the World Rugby Women's Sevens World Series. 

More importantly for Coach Sean Horan, the team will form the backbone of his Olympic hopefuls. 

After a year break, former Kiwi Fern captain Honey Hireme reunites with the NZ Sevens squad.  The majority of the players are based in Auckland and Waikato.

While Huriana Manuel has been named in the squad, she's listed as carrying injury.  Bay of Plenty's Morgan Morrow has earned her first contract with the squad.

After fulfilling last year's development contract, Katarina Whata-Simpkins is also sitting on a first full contract with the squad.

Aotearoa Kapa Takiwhitu

Tāmaki Makaurau

Huriana Manuel         

Kayla McAlister          

Tyla Nathan-Wong     

Charlotte Scanlan      

Hazel Tubic                

Portia Woodman        


Shiray Tane               

Honey Hireme           

Carla Hohepa             

Jordon Webber


Morgan Morrow         

Kelly Brazier               

Alexis Tapsell 


Michaela Blyde          

Gayle Broughton


Sarah Goss                

Selica Winiata            


Ruby Tui                                

Te Whanganui a Tara

Katarina Whata-Simpkins