NZRL hold annual awards

By Tamati Tiananga

Tonight the NZRL holds its annual awards function at the Auckland Floating Pavilion.

The ceremony highlights include Kiwis Player and Rookie of the Year, Women's Player of the Year and Match Official of the Year.

It's a big week ahead for the rugby league community. But tomorrow night two of the biggest names in rugby league Greg Inglis and Shaun Johnson will launch this season.

The Golden Boot winner, Shaun Johnson’s message is simple. He says he wants to acknowledge and inspire future prospects in rugby league.

2014 was a year of success with the Kiwis winning the Four Nations.

The Warriors prepare to celebrate its 20th Anniversary in the NRL, and look forward to a stellar weekend in the Nines.

Warriors head coach Andrew McFadden today has confirmed the four players to drop off his original squad.

Among them was Warriors and Kiwi captain, Simon Mannering mainly due to niggling injuries. 22 players were named and among them is New Zealand Māori player Bodene Thompson.