NZ U12 Baseball squad named for Cal Ripken World Series

A 15-strong squad has been named to represent New Zealand for the second year running at the Cal Ripken World Series.

The prestigious sporting event will be held in Aberdeen, Maryland later this month. 

The team consists of players from all across the country and abroad, including Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch and Australia. 

New Zealand Baseball CEO Ryan Flynn says, "This tournament is the beginning of a journey in the baseball life of our young athletes.

With this major international tournament on our calendar this year, we view 2015 as a critical year in our sports development in this age group in New Zealand.

The Ripken World Series is one of the largest and most important youth tournaments in any sport, outside of the IBAF Baseball World Cup events," said Flynn.

The U12 squad coached by Dan Tan, with assistance from Auckland Baseball Development Officer Jamie Wilson and former Houston Astros minor leaguer Nick Stanley, will finalise their preparations this week with a training camp in Auckland before the team heads to Baltimore.

The 2015 team is as follows:

Clayton Campbell                                             Australia
Beckham Crooks                                              Australia
Jaden Dawson                                                  Orewa Sharks
Dominic Elliott                                                   Central City
Marcus Feagaiga                                              Australia
Shiloh Fruean                                                    North Shore City
Taylor Irwin                                                        Howick-Pakuranga
Harrison Lough                                                 North Shore City
Taichi Nakao                                                     North Shore City
Te Aati Paul                                                       Howick-Pakuranga
Nikau Pouaka-Grego                                        Christchurch
Huriwaka Repia                                                 Howick-Pakuranga
Harry Smillie                                                      Bayside-Westhaven
Caleb Taylor                                                      Wellington
Rocky Yates                                                       Australia

Non-Travelling Reserves:

Traye Wildbore                                                 Howick-Pakuranga
Logan Nye                                                         North Shore City
Tui Amosa                                                         Howick-Pakuranga
Caleb Impey                                                      Howick-Pakuranga
Murray Davis                                                     Bayside-Westhaven