Topic: Māori Sports Awards

NZ Men's v6 500 Waka Ama team takes out Māori Sports Team of the Year award

By Online News - Rereātea
  • Auckland

The New Zealand Elite Men's V6 500 Waka Ama team are winners of the 2016 Māori Sports Team of the Year award.

The team was up against the Māori All Blacks and the New Zealand Elite Women's V6 500 Waka Ama squad.

Paddlers of the winning crew include Bradley Anderson , Dylan (Nona) Taute, Richard Pehi, Stephen Roulston, Tupuria King, Tyrin Thomas

They're coached by Myk Nuku and managed by Moana-Lee Raihania.

The men's squad made history this year, winning Gold at the International Va'a Federation World Sprint Championships against world champions Tahiti. 

It's the first time in over 12 years that another country has beaten Tahiti in this event to take out the World Championship Title. This is a massive achievement in the sport of Waka Ama.