Topic: Māori Sports Awards

Māori Sports Awards goes off with a duo bang

By Wikitōria Day
  • Auckland

It was that time of the year where our greatest sports people were recognised at the annual Māori Sports Awards held last night. 

Administrator of the Year was the first award of the night.  This year there were two recipients of this award, Trina Tamati of NRL Auckland Nines and creator of Iron Māori, Heather Skipworth, both of Ngāti Kahungunu descent.

Glen Jackson received the award for Referee of the Year.  He wasn't present, however, his achievements in the Super Rugby and ITM Cup realm was still recognised.

A new face was the recipient of the Disabled Māori Sportsperson of the year, Emma Foy.

The efforts of Stacey Jones and Phillip Tataurangi were recognised through their induction into the Hall of Fame.

The Māori All Blacks were named Māori Sports Team of the Year.  Just at the beginning of this month they beat Japan in their annual tour.

The Māori Sports Media Award went to Te Kāea sports reporter Rewa Harriman for her outstanding effort during the recent Māori All Blacks tour in Japan.

Stacey Jones earned yet another award, the award for Māori Sports Coach of the Year.

Our own Māori world champions took to the stage where they were acknowledged for their outstanding achievements for 2014.

Recipents of the supreme awards of the night went to Tyla Nathan Wong of the Junior Māori Sportswoman of the Year for the second time running.

The outstanding basketballer of Ngāti Maniapoto and Ngāpuhi, Tai Wynyard, took home the Junior Sportsman of the Year award, a first for him.     

Yet another new face emerged as the recipient of the Māori Sportswoman of the Year award, NZ rower, Fiona Bourke.

Jason Wynyard took out the Māori Sportsman of the Year award, an honour that has again been bestowed upon him.

The crowd waited in anticipation to find out who the recipient of the Māori Sportsperson of the Year would be.

The building celebrated when the names of both Jason and Tai Wynyard were announced.

It was only right that the humble duo take home this prestigious award.  This is the very first time two people have won one award.