Topics: Māori Sports Awards, Rugby

Māori All Blacks squad named

A big day for Tim Bateman, not only being selected for the Māori tour, but also being named as captain.

Tim has toured twice with the Māori All Blacks, and says nothing comes close to putting on the Māori team's strip and being a part of this proud team. There are 13 new players, five of them former All Blacks like Piri Weepu and Zac Guildford, and 11 who played for the Māori All Blacks last year.

This is the first of an annual five-year international programme for the Māori All Blacks, where they'll play a test against Canada on November 3 and the US Eagles on November 10. The whole team will assemble together on Sunday, ready to show off their Māori flair abroad.

2013 Māori All Blacks Squad -


Ben Afeaki
Blade Thomson
Chris Eves
Corey Flynn
Elliot Dixon
Hikawera Elliot
Jarrad Hoeata
Joe Royal
Kane Hames
Liam Squire
Luke Braid
Luke Katene
Nick Barrett
Shane Christie


Andre Taylor
Charlie Ngatai
Ihaia West
Jackson Willison
Jamison Gibson-Park
Joe Wheeler
Kurt Baker
Matt Proctor
Piri Weepu
Robbie Robinson
Tim Bateman
Zac Guildford