Kiwi players shortlisted for International Rugby League Award

Six Kiwis have been shortlisted in the 2013 Rugby League International Federation Player of the Year Awards being held in the UK tomorrow.

Issac Luke from Taranaki and Jared Warea-Hargreaves from Te Arawa are the two Māori players in the running for Player of the Year in their positions as hooker and prop.

Also Sonny Bill Williams, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Shaun Johnson and Kieran Foran have been nominated in their positions. But while those acolades are nice, all the focus is on their world cup final against the Kangaroos on Sunday morning.

Some of the Kiwi players have gone their whole careers without beating the Kangaroos and scrum half Kieran Foran is one of them.

Foran says, "I've always been on the receiving end of losses to them, some bad, some close. But, I'd love to get one over on them and I know the boys would."

The match between halves Kieran Foran and his Manly team mate Daly Cherry-Evans will be one to watch and Kieran knows he won't be able to surprise his mate on the paddock.

Most of the replays of the semi final against England have been of the last minute try by Shaun Johnson, but Dean Whare's pass back to Roger Tuivasa-Sheck to score their first try was also a memorable moment.

Dean and his team mates will need to shift levels again this weekend as they try to defend their World Cup title against the Kangaroos, but if the semi final is anything to go by you should never count the Kiwis out.