Category winners announced for 2015 Ngāti Kahungunu Sport Awards

  • North Island: East Coast

Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated have announced the Category Winners for the Ngāti Kahungunu Sport Awards for 2015.

The following winners have been named:

Junior Māori Sportsman of the Year - Isaia Jones- Mitchell (Basketball)

Junior Māori Sportswoman of the Year - Mereana Makea (Softball)

Māori Coach of the Year - Paul Henare (Basketball)

Māori Administrator of the Year -  Patrick & Theresa O'Brien 9 Boxing & Kickboxing)

Māori Official of the Year - Zane Johnson (Touch Rugby)

Senior Māori Sportswoman of the Year - Sarah Gross (Rugby)

Senior Māori Sportsman of the Year - Tohu Harris (Rugby League) Aaron Smith (Rugby)

Active Kaumātua - Richard Allen (Multisport/Triathlon/Ocean Swimming)

Seniors Sports Team of the Year - Thirsty Whale Otane Force Netball Team

Junior Sports Team of the Year - Karamu High School Kī o Rahi team

The overall winner will be announced on the night of the awards, which is being held at Hastings Sports Centre on October 16.