Topic: Rugby

ABs team named for second Bledisloe match

By Online News - Rereātea
  • Wellington

All Blacks head coach Steve Hansen has named the starting line-up for this Saturday's second Bledisloe Cup test match again the Wallabies in Wellington.  

The starting 15 are as followed, including new All Black Anton Lienert-Brown:

1. Joe Moody (14)
2.  Dane Coles (40)
3.  Owen Franks (81)
4.  Brodie Retallick (51)
5.  Samuel Whitelock (76)
6.  Jerome Kaino (70)
7.  Sam Cane (35)
8.  Kieran Read - captain (88)
9.  Aaron Smith (51)
10.  Beauden Barrett (40)
11.  Julian Savea (44)
12.  Anton Lienert-Brown
13.  Malakai Fekitoa (16)
14.  Israel Dagg (52)
15.  Ben Smith (52)

16.  James Parsons (1)
17.  Wyatt Crockett (49)
18.  Charlie Faumuina (37)
19.  Liam Squire (2)
20. Ardie Savea (3)
21.  TJ Perenara (20)
22.  Aaron Cruden (40)
23.  Seta Tamanivalu (2)

21-year-old midfielder Lienert-Brown will make his debut wearing the number 12 jersey and will be taking the place of injured Ryan Crotty. It's one of four changes made to the team who thrashed Australia 42-8 in Sydney last weekend. 

Prop Joe Moody also returns to from injury to start at loosehead prop. 

Hansen says, "Firstly, we'd like to congratulate Anton on his Test selection.  He had a very good Super season with strong performances throughout and we expect him to take the step up. We're really looking forward to seeing him play in the international arena.  It'll be a special night for Anton on Saturday and he and his family can be proud of what he has achieved."

Hansen adds that the upcoming match will tell the squad a lot about themselves and Australia. 

"There's no doubt that one of the hardest things to do in sport is to back up a big performance with another big performance.  It's totally a mental thing, so that is something we've been working really hard on this week: getting our feet back on the ground and our attitudes right for what is going to be a really physical and demanding Test.  As always, the expectation we have placed on ourselves is to improve in everything we do."

Kick off is at 7:35pm at the Westpac Stadium, Wellington.