Two new Māori Language Commissioners have been appointed

By Te Kāea
  • Wellington

Two new board members to Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori, the Māori Language Commission, have been confirmed by the Māori Development Minister, Hon Te Ururoa Flavell.

Dr Ruka Broughton (Taranaki, Whanganui, Ngāti Awa, Ngāti Kahungunu) has been selected for a six month term, while Dr Poia Rewi, a current Board Member, fills in as the Commission’s interim Chief Executive.

“As a renowned expert in Te Reo Māori and a former Māori language commissioner (1999-2002), Dr Broughton provides business continuity for the board until a new CE is appointed”, says Mr Flavell.

Hinurewa Poutu (Ngāti Rangi, Te Āti Haunui-a-Pāpārangi, Ngāti Maniapoto) has been appointed for a three year term.

She is a graduate of Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Mana Tamariki in Palmerston North, with an academic and work record in studying, researching and also teaching Te Reo Māori.

She is nearing the completion of her doctoral studies at Massey University on how Māori speaking teenagers are using the language.

“Ms Poutu is an outstanding example of the new generation of Māori language speakers who have grown up immersed in Māori culture and language.

The two new board members will join Chair Mr Ērima Hēnare, Dr Kātarina Edmonds and Te Awanuiārangi Black on the Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori board.