Topics: Kapa Haka, Te Matatini

Tāmaki rivals to face off in day two of Matatini 2015

updated By Heeni Brown, Te Kāea
  • Auckland
  • South Island

Two Tāmaki teams will wrap proceedings on day two of Te Matatini 2015, and they are well known to each other.

Two-time winners Te Rōpū Manutaki precede the popular Ngā Tūmanako in Pool B, ‘Te Haumi’ on Friday March 6th, 2015.

Te Rōpū Manutaki began out of Hoani Waititi Marae in West Auckland, and was established by its founding tutor and leader, the current Minister of Māori Affairs, Dr. Pita Sharples.

Ngā Tūmanako is the name of the wharenui at Hoani Waititi Marae, and the kapa haka counts many Kura Kaupapa Māori and Wharekura Māori graduates in its ranks.

Te Rōpū Manutaki returns to Te Matatini after missing out on the event in 2013.

Both teams will be watched closely at the 2015 event, with current champions, Te Waka Huia, the only other Auckland group participating at the event.