Topics: Kapa Haka, Matangirua - Finals Day, Te Matatini

ONLINE EXTRA - Te Matatini Highlights

By Taroi Black
  • South Island

Over the last four days, we’ve seen 45 teams showcase their performances in front of thousands at Hagley Park in Christchurch.

It was the second time Christchurch has hosted the kapa haka event since 1986 when Te Waka Huia took out the Duncan MacIntyre in their first appearance at Te Matatini.

With 45 teams competing, only 3 teams from 3 pools could move on to the top 9 finals.

Out of all the teams Te Kapa Haka o Te Whānau-a- Apanui won for the second time.

Te Whānau-a-Apanui last won the nationals in 2005.

To wrap up Te Matatini, Tāroi Black has compiled a highlights package of the world’s biggest kapa haka competition.