Topics: Samoa, Rugby

All Blacks team set to face off with Manu Samoa named

Samoa is ready for Wednesday's big clash - Photo / file

The All Blacks team set to face off against Manu Samoa on their home turf in Apia has been named.

According to New Zealand Rugby, the All Blacks and Samoa have played each other five times since 1993 and this is the first test to be played in Apia.  The last test was on 3 September 2008 in New Plymouth. 

Current All Blacks who played in that match include Tony Woodcock, Jerome Kaino and Daniel Carter.

The All Blacks are due to arrive in Samoa tonight and will spend time meeting fans and attending special events prior to the clash on Wednesday 

George Moala will make his test debut on the wing for the team. There are another three new All Blacks on the Reserves bench, Nepo Laulala, Brad Weber and Charlie Ngatai.

Samoa is abuzz with excitement as fans stream into the island to see the historic test take place.

The team named is:

Starting XV:

  1. Tony Woodcock
  2. Kevin Mealamu
  3. Owen Franks
  4. Luke Romano
  5. Samuel Whitelock
  6. Jerome Kaino
  7. Richie McCaw
  8. Kieran Read
  9. Andy Ellis
  10. Daniel Carter
  11. Charles Piutau
  12. Sonny Bill Williams
  13. Ryan Crotty
  14. George Moala
  15. Israel Dagg


  1. Hikawera Elliot
  2. Wyatt Crockett
  3. Nepo Laulala
  4. Brodie Retallick
  5. Matt Todd
  6. Brad Weber
  7. Colin Slade
  8. Charlie Ngatai

Te Kāea reporter Rewa Harriman is in Samoa and will bring you the latest tonight on Te Kāea at 5:30pm with live subtitles.