Topics: Kapa Haka, Kura Tuarua

Te Kura Wiwini, Te Kura Wawana - Top 9 Teams to advance to finals

By Te Kāea

The top nine groups to advance to tomorrow's Secondary Schools Kapa Haka Nationals final have been announced at Houhoupiko.

The groups with the highest marks from each of the three pools will perform again throughout Friday with hopes of taking out the 2014 national title.

Here are the winners from each pool -

Pool A:

1.  Kura Ki Uta (Ōpōtiki College)
2.  Te KKM o Te Rāwhitiroa
3.  Taiohi Tātaki (Massey High School)

Pool B:

1.  Te Wharekura o Rākaumangamanga
2.  Rītana (Lytton High School)
3.  Te Wharekura o Hoani Waititi Marae

Pool C:

1.  Ngā Puna o Waiōrea (Western Springs College)
2.  Te Rōpū Raukura (RBHS & RGHS)
3.  Ngā KKM o Te Puku o Te Ika a Māui

The order of performance was drawn 'out of a hat' by Archbishop William Brown (Paraone) Turei, with the first group drawn being the first to perform tomorrow.

Here is the order of performance with times (as per the schedule):

1.)  9:00am:  Kura Ki Uta (Ōpōtiki College)

2.)  9:40am:  Te Wharekura o Hoani Waititi Marae

3.)  10:20am:  Ngā KKM o Te Puku o Te Ika a Māui

4.)  11:00am:  Te Rōpū Raukura

5.)  11:40am:  Te KKM o Te Rāwhitiroa

6.)  1:00pm:  Taiohi Tātaki (Massey High School)

7.)  1:40pm:  Rītana (Lytton High School)

8.)  2:20pm:  Ngā Puna o Waiōrea (Western Springs College)

9.)  3:00pm:  Te Wharekura o Rākaumangamanga

Prizegiving tomorrow is currently scheduled for 4:30pm.

For those attending tomorrow, a big screen will be positioned out in the Stalls Area for the duration of the performances.

The full performance of each of the Top 9 groups will be posted online, on the Māori Television website following the end of each group's performance. (Delayed not live)

Also, a highlights package of the Top 9 groups will be broadcast on television on the Te Reo Channel from 4:30pm tomorrow.