TV show sub navigation

Te Waitā Award for Sport

Te Waitā Award for Sport is special recognition of a sportsperson or member of a sports team who demonstrates excellence in their discipline at a national and/or international level.

Lisa Carrington
Tupuria King
Dane Stuart Coles


  1. Value of contribution to New Zealand society and impact on the local community, region and/or nation.
  2. Demonstrated in-depth understanding and commitment in a leadership capacity.
  3. Involvement in establishing and/or setting the direction of a not-for-profit group, organisation and/or cause.
  4. Value of contribution to Māori and non-Maori development of the sports sector with positive social, economic and/or cultural benefits.
  5. Length of service in the sports sector, paid and/or unpaid.
  6. Degree of difficulty in achievement and innovative, creative and thoughtful approaches to overcoming challenges.
  7. Concerted effort in working towards quality goals and outcomes.
  8. Demonstrated guidance, support, training and encouragement of peers and/or future sportspeople.
  9. Involvement in wider sports development and programmes at a community level
  10. Proven participation in sports courses, forums, conventions and/or community activities such as wānanga.


  1. Must be a New Zealand citizen or hold a Resident or Permanent Resident Visa.
  2. Must be available to attend the Matariki Awards 2017 gala ceremony – Friday 21 July 2017.
  3. Past winners of this award are ineligible.