TV show sub navigation

Te Ururangi Award for Education

Te Ururangi Award for Education is special recognition of the extraordinary contribution, sacrifice and commitment of an individual in the New Zealand education sector.

Dame Georgina Kingi
Professor Robert Jahnke
Associate Professor Joanne Baxter


  1. Value of contribution to New Zealand society and impact on the local community, region and/or nation.
  2. Demonstrated in-depth understanding and commitment in a leadership capacity.
  3. Value of contribution in improving academic, social, economic, and/or cultural outcomes for all New Zealanders.
  4. Development of curriculum and strategies best delivering on the national Māori education model.
  5. Length of service in the education sector, paid and/or unpaid.
  6. Degree of difficulty in academic achievement and sustained effort in maintaining ongoing professional development.
  7. Concerted effort in working towards quality goals and outcomes.
  8. Demonstrated guidance, support, training and encouragement of peers and/or future educators.
  9. Involvement in wider education development and programmes, paid and/or unpaid.
  10. Proven participation in educational courses, forums, conventions and/or community activities such as wānanga.


  1. Must be a New Zealand citizen or hold a Resident or Permanent Resident Visa.
  2. Must be available to attend the Matariki Awards 2017 gala ceremony – Friday 21 July 2017.
  3. Past winners of this award are ineligible.