TV show sub navigation

Te Tupu-ā-Rangi Award for Health and Science

Te Tupu-ā-Rangi Award for Health and Science is special recognition of outstanding initiatives and programmes created and implemented in a clinical or non-clinical context which positively contributes to the development and retention of a capable health workforce. Science includes medicine, biophysics and biochemistry as well as environmental and cognitive sciences.

Dr Elana Taipapaki Curtis
Professor Michael Walker


  1. Value of contribution to New Zealand society and impact on the local community, region and/or nation.
  2. Demonstrated in-depth understanding and commitment in a leadership capacity.
  3. Involvement in establishing and/or setting the direction of a not-for-profit group, organisation and/or cause.
  4. Value of contribution to Māori and non-Maori development of the health and science sector with positive social, economic and/or cultural benefits.
  5. Evidence of innovative initiatives and integrated practices in the achievement of successful health outcomes.
  6. Commitment to research, development and delivery of quality programmes of benefit to all.
  7. Length of service in the health and science sector, paid and/or unpaid.
  8. Demonstrated guidance, support, training and encouragement of peers and/or future practitioners.
  9. Concerted effort in working towards quality goals and outcomes.
  10. Proven participation in health and science courses, forums, conventions and community activities such as wānanga.


  1. Must be a New Zealand citizen or hold a Resident or Permanent Resident Visa.
  2. Must be available to attend the Matariki Awards 2017 gala ceremony – Friday 21 July 2017.
  3. Past winners of this award are ineligible.