Matariki Awards 2017 | Māori Television

TV show sub navigation

Matariki Awards 2017

  • Mātakihia
  • Te Reo:Kore

LIVE from the Auckland War Memorial Museum, Friday 21 July, 8.30pm.

The Matariki Awards recognise Māori excellence across a wide range of disciplines – an opportunity to acknowledge and honour those individuals and organisations whose passion, innovation and dedication is making a difference to our communities and our country.

Below are the categories for the 2017 awards and which are named after the stars of the Matariki constellation – Ngā Whetū o Matariki:

  • Te Whetū Maiangi Award for Young Achievers – inspirational rangatahi proactive in social and community situations, motivating and encouraging others.
  • Te Ururangi Award for Education – trailblazers making a significant contribution to the development of mātauranga Māori or Māori knowledge.
  • Te Waipuna-ā-Rangi Award for Arts and Entertainment – creative professionals leading the way in literature, performing arts, media arts or visual arts.
  • Te Tupu-ā-Rangi Award for Health and Science – healthcare and science experts dedicated to improving the physical and mental wellbeing of New Zealanders.
  • Te Waitā Award for Sport – extraordinary men and women excelling in the sporting arena both at home and overseas.
  • Te Tupu-ā-Nuku Award for Business and Innovation – game changers in their field making an impact and driving our economy and society forward.
  • Te Waitī Award for Te Reo and Tikanga – individuals championing the revitalisation of the Māori language and culture.
  • Hiwa i te Rangi Award for Community – a new category in 2017 showcasing Māori groups and organisations that play a vital role in the social, economic, cultural and environmental prosperity of their rohe (region). 

Nominations for the 2017 awards have now closed.

Ka hiahia pea koe ki