TV show sub navigation

Te Tai Tonga

From Lower Hutt, across to Makara in the North Island, and then down to include the capital city and all of the South Island, including Stewart Island and the Chatham Islands, that’s the Te Tai Tonga region. The big cities of Wellington, Christchurch and Dunedin are a part of this electorate. 

[Emotiki use courtesy of Te Puia]

Labour Party's Rino Tirikatene is the incumbent MP for Te Tai Tonga.

Previous result in Te Tai Tonga.
Current MP Rino Tirikatene (LABOUR)
Majority 3,554
Total votes 20,730

Te Tai Tonga - Live Results

Te Tai Tonga - Confirmed Result

Confirmed Result

VOTES COUNTED:  24,166     100.0%


2nd CANDIDATE:  TUREI, Metiria     5,740

MAJORITY:  4,676

PARTY VOTE LEAD:  Labour Party     55.8%

2nd PARTY: National Party     12.5%

Electorate seat winner

Rino Tirikatene

Labour Party
Votes: 10,416 (46%)
Margin: 4,676 (21%)

100% of booths reporting as at 12:00am

Live candidate results for Te Tai Tonga

Rino Tirikatene

10416 votes 46%

Metiria Turei

5740 votes 25%

Mei Reedy-Taare

4915 votes 22%

Emma-Jane Mihaere Kingi

1625 votes 7%

Party vote

Party vote winner

Labour Party

Votes: 13,484 (56%)
Margin: 10,470 (44%)
Live party results for Te Tai Tonga
Labour Party
13484 votes 100%
National Party
3014 votes 22%
Māori Party
2030 votes 15%
Green Party
1963 votes 15%
New Zealand First Party
1926 votes 14%
The Opportunities Party (TOP)
944 votes 7%
Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party
280 votes 2%
123 votes 1%
58 votes 0%
ACT New Zealand
48 votes 0%
New Zealand People's Party
20 votes 0%
18 votes 0%
NZ Outdoors Party
11 votes 0%
United Future
10 votes 0%
Internet Party
6 votes 0%
Democrats for Social Credit
5 votes 0%

Candidates in: Te Tai Tonga

More: Te Tai Tonga


Election Aotearoa: Te Tai Tonga candidates go head to head

By Election Aotearoa

Election Aotearoa continues its exclusive coverage of the Māori electorates and this week features candidates from the country's southern-most Māori electorate of Te Tai Tonga.  

In part one of tonight's debate, candidates Rino Tirikatene from Labour, Metiria Turei from the Green Party and Mei Reedy-Taare from the Māori Party discuss the latest #ElectionAotearoa poll results.

Jaye Glam Morgan - Wellington Fashionista

Capital Kākahu - Tai Tonga & Ikaroa-Rāwhiti

By Election Aotearoa

Find out what happens when vivacious Wellington fashionista and LGBT icon Jaye Glam Morgan (Ngāti Kahungunu) gives fashion advice to the suits of Parliament.

The looks that will get the Tai Tonga candidates a tick, and which wahine has the sartorial edge in the race for Ikaroa-Rāwhiti?

Show more results

Te Kāea on Facebook