Māori Television Presents Comprehensive Election Coverage


FRIDAY, AUGUST 22, 2014     


Māori Television’s 2014 General Election coverage starts this Monday, August 25, with the first of seven LIVE debates that will get to the heart of the issues in the Māori electorates.
Hosted by Mihingarangi Forbes, KŌWHIRI 2014 will air every Monday and Wednesday at 8.30pm, with the main candidates from each of the Māori electorates appearing LIVE from Māori Television’s Auckland studio, starting with Te Tai Tonga on August 25.

The debates will also be live-streamed on www.maoritelevision.com.
Producer Annabelle Lee says the programme will present results of the most comprehensive polling done in the Māori electorates since 2008.

“A lot has happened since then so this will be an interesting election to follow in the Māori electorates,” she says.

In addition, the debates will include a regional report looking at what voters in each of the electorates see as the major issues affecting their communities.

On election night, Māori Television will be LIVE from 7.00pm with coverage of the results as they come to hand in KŌWHIRI 2014 – ELECTION SPECIAL. 

Host Mihingarangi Forbes will be joined by political editor Maiki Sherman and Te Kāea news presenter Piripi Taylor and a panel of commentators including, Dr Ella Henry, Scott Campbell, Morgan Godfery, Sandra Lee, Ward Kamo, Dayle Takitimu and Tau Henare.

The five-hour broadcast will focus on the Māori electorates with reporters in each Māori electorate following the winners. 

On September 21, Māori Television will be back on air at 9.00am with the two-hour KŌWHIRI 2014 – ELECTION REVIEW SPECIAL to present and unpack the results.

To round up KŌWHIRI 2014, Native Affairs will dedicate its programme on Monday, September 22 to focus on the results in the Māori electorates, look closely at Māori who were elected in general seats, and talk to any new Māori MP’s as well as the leaders of the parties.

Māori Television’s website www.maoritelevision.com has a dedicated election page, with information about the electorates and the candidates.

1           August 25 – Te Tai Tonga
2          August 27 - Te Tai Hauāuru
3          September 1 - Waiariki
4          September 3 - Ikaroa Rāwhiti
5          September 8 - Tāmaki Makaurau
6          September 10 - Hauraki Waikato
7          September 15 - Te Tai Tokerau
For interviews, images or further information contact:
Lauren Mentjox 
Kaiwhakaputa Matua
Senior Publicist
Māori Television
DDI         +64 9 539 7108